search.noResults

search.searching

saml.title
dataCollection.invalidEmail
note.createNoteMessage

search.noResults

search.searching

orderForm.title

orderForm.productCode
orderForm.description
orderForm.quantity
orderForm.itemPrice
orderForm.price
orderForm.totalPrice
orderForm.deliveryDetails.billingAddress
orderForm.deliveryDetails.deliveryAddress
orderForm.noItems
N4 Entrepreneurship & Business Management Conclusion


Sales scenarios can be very helpful when a business owner struggles to do an accurate forecast. Doing two different forecasts could help prepare the businessperson for different types of eventualities. For example, a pessimistic or worst case scenario over a longer period i.e. one year can serve as an early warning system alerting the owner in advance that the business in trouble.


Revision questions


1. You intend selling files to a stationery business. Your projected sales figure for the year is 3000 files. The files cost you R1 600. These files make up 40% of your sales and your selling price is R2 each. Your budgeted operating expenses for the year is: Telephone R150, Advertising R300, Postage R200, Stationery R100, Rental R1200, Other running expenses R50. 1.1 Calculate the variable costs and fixed costs. 1.2 Calculate the variable cost per file. 1.3 Calculate the gross profit percentage. 1.4 Calculate the break-even units if you want to achieve a profit of R800. 1.5 Use the information and construct a graphical representation of the break-even point. 1.6 What is the breakeven-point in units (files)?


2. You run a clothing business at the local flea-market, called Beach Wear. You sell clothing items for children and your two main products are T-shirts and sandals. The cost price for the T-shirts and sandals amounts to R12.00 and R20.00 respectively. You sell the T-shirts for R38.00 and the sandals for R48.00. Contribution to total sales of the T-shirts and sandals amount to 70% and 30% respectively. The fixed costs and variable costs per month amounts to R1200 and R1800 respectively. 2.1 Calculate the gross profit and gross profit percentage. 2.2 Calculate the weighted average gross profit percentage. 2.3 Calculate the break-even turnover if you want to achieve a profit of R2200 per month. 2.4 Describe and indicate a floor plan or layout of this business. Note, you are selling beach ware at a flea-market.


Other questions


Give one word for the following phrases. 1. Something that your business has if it is unique and which your competitors don’t have. 2. When a business is neither making a profit nor a loss, then the business is? 3. The costs a business needs to incur before it is open for business to generate an income. 4. Establish the size and number of customers in an area. 5. Taking a positive and a negative view of the potential future sales of a business. 6. The gross profit percentage for more than one product. 7. The profit after all fixed costs were deducted as well. 8. The turnover of a business


Click on the icon to complete a fun, interactive test that will review your knowledge.


92


Page 1  |  Page 2  |  Page 3  |  Page 4  |  Page 5  |  Page 6  |  Page 7  |  Page 8  |  Page 9  |  Page 10  |  Page 11  |  Page 12  |  Page 13  |  Page 14  |  Page 15  |  Page 16  |  Page 17  |  Page 18  |  Page 19  |  Page 20  |  Page 21  |  Page 22  |  Page 23  |  Page 24  |  Page 25  |  Page 26  |  Page 27  |  Page 28  |  Page 29  |  Page 30  |  Page 31  |  Page 32  |  Page 33  |  Page 34  |  Page 35  |  Page 36  |  Page 37  |  Page 38  |  Page 39  |  Page 40  |  Page 41  |  Page 42  |  Page 43  |  Page 44  |  Page 45  |  Page 46  |  Page 47  |  Page 48  |  Page 49  |  Page 50  |  Page 51  |  Page 52  |  Page 53  |  Page 54  |  Page 55  |  Page 56  |  Page 57  |  Page 58  |  Page 59  |  Page 60  |  Page 61  |  Page 62  |  Page 63  |  Page 64  |  Page 65  |  Page 66  |  Page 67  |  Page 68  |  Page 69  |  Page 70  |  Page 71  |  Page 72  |  Page 73  |  Page 74  |  Page 75  |  Page 76  |  Page 77  |  Page 78  |  Page 79  |  Page 80  |  Page 81  |  Page 82  |  Page 83  |  Page 84  |  Page 85  |  Page 86  |  Page 87  |  Page 88  |  Page 89  |  Page 90  |  Page 91  |  Page 92  |  Page 93  |  Page 94  |  Page 95  |  Page 96  |  Page 97  |  Page 98  |  Page 99  |  Page 100  |  Page 101  |  Page 102  |  Page 103  |  Page 104  |  Page 105  |  Page 106  |  Page 107  |  Page 108  |  Page 109  |  Page 110  |  Page 111  |  Page 112  |  Page 113  |  Page 114  |  Page 115  |  Page 116  |  Page 117  |  Page 118  |  Page 119  |  Page 120  |  Page 121  |  Page 122  |  Page 123  |  Page 124  |  Page 125  |  Page 126  |  Page 127  |  Page 128  |  Page 129  |  Page 130  |  Page 131  |  Page 132  |  Page 133  |  Page 134  |  Page 135  |  Page 136  |  Page 137  |  Page 138  |  Page 139  |  Page 140  |  Page 141  |  Page 142  |  Page 143  |  Page 144  |  Page 145  |  Page 146  |  Page 147  |  Page 148  |  Page 149  |  Page 150  |  Page 151  |  Page 152  |  Page 153  |  Page 154  |  Page 155  |  Page 156  |  Page 157  |  Page 158  |  Page 159  |  Page 160  |  Page 161  |  Page 162  |  Page 163  |  Page 164  |  Page 165  |  Page 166  |  Page 167  |  Page 168  |  Page 169  |  Page 170  |  Page 171  |  Page 172