N4 Entrepreneurship & Business Management
To refresh your memory answer the following questions: 1. What is your gross profit (R) per chicken in this example? 2. What is your cost of sales? 3. What is your gross profit percentage?
Example: You expect to sell at least 600 chickens during the month. In addition, no start-up capital was required to start this business.
Steps to determine the cost price of a product Calculations Step 1 Determine all potential variable costs per product. ...... R25 + R3 Step 2 Add up all the potential fixed costs of your business for a specific month. .............................................................. R7 800
Step 3 Add all the start-up costs. If you need to loan this money, calculate the monthly repayment amount ........ R0
Step 4 Add the loan repayment amount to your monthly fixed costs ......................................................................... R7 800 + R0 = R7 800
Step 5 Compile a sales forecast to determine how many products you will be able to sell in a month. .................. 600 chickens
Step 6 Multiply your variable cost per product with your sales forcast(the number of products you think you will be able to sell) ........................................................... 600 × R28 = R16 800
Step 7 Add your variable costs and fixed costs to determine your total monthly costs. ................................................. R16 800 × R7 800 = R6000
Conclusion: The total cost of this business is R24 600.
Before you determine the selling price, consider the following: • What does your competition charge for a chicken? • What is your target market prepared to pay? • Is there a convenience factor involved? • What is the total cost per chicken?
Confirming your selling price 1. After careful consideration you decide you would be able to sell your chickens for R48 each. 2. There are no additional convenience factors to keep in mind. 3. Your total cost per chicken is R24 600 ÷ 600 = R41.00 4. The break-even point of the business is:
Step 1 Calculate the gross profit percentage: R20 × R100 R48
1 = 41.67%
Step 2 Calculate the fixed costs R7 800
Step 3 Break-even point =
Fixed Costs GP%
= R7800 41.67%
= R18 718.50 Conclusion:
The selling price of R48 per chicken meets all the various pricing factor considerations and will ensure that you make a reasonable profit.
108
Formula: Gross Profit × R100 Sales
1
Page 1 |
Page 2 |
Page 3 |
Page 4 |
Page 5 |
Page 6 |
Page 7 |
Page 8 |
Page 9 |
Page 10 |
Page 11 |
Page 12 |
Page 13 |
Page 14 |
Page 15 |
Page 16 |
Page 17 |
Page 18 |
Page 19 |
Page 20 |
Page 21 |
Page 22 |
Page 23 |
Page 24 |
Page 25 |
Page 26 |
Page 27 |
Page 28 |
Page 29 |
Page 30 |
Page 31 |
Page 32 |
Page 33 |
Page 34 |
Page 35 |
Page 36 |
Page 37 |
Page 38 |
Page 39 |
Page 40 |
Page 41 |
Page 42 |
Page 43 |
Page 44 |
Page 45 |
Page 46 |
Page 47 |
Page 48 |
Page 49 |
Page 50 |
Page 51 |
Page 52 |
Page 53 |
Page 54 |
Page 55 |
Page 56 |
Page 57 |
Page 58 |
Page 59 |
Page 60 |
Page 61 |
Page 62 |
Page 63 |
Page 64 |
Page 65 |
Page 66 |
Page 67 |
Page 68 |
Page 69 |
Page 70 |
Page 71 |
Page 72 |
Page 73 |
Page 74 |
Page 75 |
Page 76 |
Page 77 |
Page 78 |
Page 79 |
Page 80 |
Page 81 |
Page 82 |
Page 83 |
Page 84 |
Page 85 |
Page 86 |
Page 87 |
Page 88 |
Page 89 |
Page 90 |
Page 91 |
Page 92 |
Page 93 |
Page 94 |
Page 95 |
Page 96 |
Page 97 |
Page 98 |
Page 99 |
Page 100 |
Page 101 |
Page 102 |
Page 103 |
Page 104 |
Page 105 |
Page 106 |
Page 107 |
Page 108 |
Page 109 |
Page 110 |
Page 111 |
Page 112 |
Page 113 |
Page 114 |
Page 115 |
Page 116 |
Page 117 |
Page 118 |
Page 119 |
Page 120 |
Page 121 |
Page 122 |
Page 123 |
Page 124 |
Page 125 |
Page 126 |
Page 127 |
Page 128 |
Page 129 |
Page 130 |
Page 131 |
Page 132 |
Page 133 |
Page 134 |
Page 135 |
Page 136 |
Page 137 |
Page 138 |
Page 139 |
Page 140 |
Page 141 |
Page 142 |
Page 143 |
Page 144 |
Page 145 |
Page 146 |
Page 147 |
Page 148 |
Page 149 |
Page 150 |
Page 151 |
Page 152 |
Page 153 |
Page 154 |
Page 155 |
Page 156 |
Page 157 |
Page 158 |
Page 159 |
Page 160 |
Page 161 |
Page 162 |
Page 163 |
Page 164 |
Page 165 |
Page 166 |
Page 167 |
Page 168 |
Page 169 |
Page 170 |
Page 171 |
Page 172